Reviews

Coast to Coast - Rating 5/5

Exellent place to stay for our Coast to Coast walk! Fantastic room and excellent food.

Reviewer: | Sat 6th May 2017


Lovely friendly place - Rating 5/5

Really can\'t fault it. A community rescued, owned and run pub/B&B. Beautiful surroundings and run by such a friendly couple . Breakfast was excellent and so were the evening meals. Although a small B&B I felt you could come and go as you wished with no pressure. I would definitely stay again and definitely eat there again. Lovely place and lovely couple running it. Bed was very comfortable too, so great couple of nights sleep. What more could you want.

Reviewer: Mrs. Marie Wall | Tue 24th Jan 2017


Enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Very good value for money . Very hospitable staff. Lovely people . Nothing to much trouble. The room was lovely and the bathroom It was lovely and warm and the bed very comfortable . We enjoyed our breakfast . We had an evening meal the first night it was very good and the pudding exellent. Have booked again for next year. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay.

Reviewer: Roberts | Tue 8th Nov 2016


Fox and Hounds Inn - Rating 4/5

We really enjoyed our stay and the hosts were friendly and helpful.Our room was very comfortable and spacious and the evening meals and breakfasts were very good. This is an ideal place to stay to explore around Ennerdale.

Reviewer: Mrs. Jennifer Maguire | Thu 3rd Nov 2016


Peace, character and comfort - Rating 4/5

A lovely place to stay- friendly atmosphere, peaceful location by stream in tucked-away part of village, good breakfast and bar meals, comfortable beds. Was particularly glad of big bath to soak in as had run round the lake and got thoroughly drenched and chilled by rain & wind!

Reviewer: Miss. Fay Tuffen | Sun 23rd Oct 2016


A great find! - Rating 5/5

My friend and I stayed here on our first night of the coast to coast walk. The facility and rooms were absolutely lovely, and the town equally quaint. We felt very taken care of by the staff - who even did our laundry for us. We would highly recommend staying here.

Reviewer: Ms. dorothy penney | Sat 27th Aug 2016


Very pleasant - Rating 4/5

Lovely large room and bathroom. Food was very good both for our evening meal and breakfast. Welcoming staff.

Reviewer: Miss. Lyndsay Lakin | Sat 20th Aug 2016


Friendly and helpful staff! - Rating 3/5

The staff was friendly and helpful but the room could do with some updating.

Reviewer: Mrs. Catherine Gritz | Thu 4th Aug 2016


Lovely pub - Rating 4/5

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July, with the aim of picking off some of the Wainwright peaks in the area. The room was clean and comfortable, the food and beer were very good, and the staff were lovely. We would stay again.

Reviewer: Ms. Emma Easthope | Mon 1st Aug 2016


Coast-to-coast camping - Rating 4/5

We stayed here on the final night of our Coast-to-Coast walk before finishing in St Bees (we walked from East to West). We went for the basic camping option since the Inn was fully booked on this night (there are no specific camping toilets or showers at the Inn but there is a facility nearby offering these services, within working hours). All staff were very welcoming and helpful and we enjoyed dinner that evening a great breakfast before setting off the next day!

Reviewer: Ms. Shelley Anderson | Tue 26th Jul 2016


End of 1st day on the Coast 2 Coast - Rating 5/5

It was a very very wet day. But a great welcome and very accommodating staff team. Great evening meal and breakfast. We met other walkers which is always good.I would not hesitate to reccomend The Fox and Hounds to other walkers or even those travelling in Cumbris. Thank You

Response

Hi shelly thankyou for your kind words. I hope you all made your next destination not to wet

Reviewer: Shelly Jones | Tue 21st Jun 2016


Comfortable Stay - Rating 5/5

Great place beautiful room, clean large bathroom. Good facilities, food was good. Great location for hiking.

Reviewer: Louise Green | Tue 31st May 2016


Thanks - Rating 4/5

Very welcoming Great rooms Good food Friendly hosts Will stay again

Reviewer: Jim Mackenzie | Mon 30th May 2016


Fox and Hounds review - Rating 5/5

Very nice spacious room. Good internet access, good choice of real ales and tasty food. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer: Mr. Stephen Wilshere | Thu 26th May 2016


Mini break in Ennerdale - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from a break in Ennerdale and stayed in The Fox and Hounds. A lovely pub, very pleasant, efficient staff and a lovely clean comfortable room to return to after a hard days walking!! The food was very tasty both evening meals and breakfast. Would love to visit again sometime in the future. PS The Irish band on Thurs 19th were fabulous!!

Reviewer: Kiet Pratt | Sat 21st May 2016


Walking to black sail - Rating 5/5

Very friendly welcoming place to stay. Food good

Reviewer: Joyce Moon | Sun 24th Apr 2016


A lovely break - Rating 4/5

We stayed in room 2, a lovely spacious room with large bathroom. The room was very warm and comfortable, the bathroom was practical and functional but in need of updating. We are working our way through the Wainwright walks and this pub was a brilliant base. The locals were warm and friendly the Ennerdale beer was absolutely superb. We ate in the pub on the first night, the food was good home cooked fayre. On balance i would recommend a delightful stay at the Fox and Hounds. Many thanks for a lovely break see you again soon.

Reviewer: Mrs. barbara tierney | Thu 31st Mar 2016


Pickle was very happy. - Rating 5/5

We stayed for just the one night, chosen initially because they allow dogs to stay in the rooms. Pickle, our working cocker was made to feel extremely welcome & therefore we had a very relaxed enjoyable stay too. Great local real ales, lovely meals & breakfast, very friendly & helpful staff, would certainly recommend to others & stay again if we were in the area.

Reviewer: Steve Edwards | Mon 11th Jan 2016


Winter in Ennerdale - Rating 5/5

Thank you very much for our nice stay! The room was clean, the food was very good. Everything was to our full satisfaction. Nothing to complain about!

Reviewer: Ms. Stefanie Arendt | Wed 6th Jan 2016


New year stay - Rating 4/5

We decided last minute we wanted to go to the lakes for new year. We were made very welcome and we even had a space made for us to celebrate the new year with the locals. Warm friendly staff,nice rooms and fantastic food all round.

Reviewer: Mr. Stephen Maddock | Sat 2nd Jan 2016


Winter Break - Rating 4/5

Perfect location for walking. Lovely comfortable and spacious room. Plenty of hot water for a bath/shower. Welcoming staff. Good beer and food.

Response

thankyou mr archer for your kind words we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you both soon

Reviewer: Mr. John Archer | Wed 2nd Dec 2015


Late Break - Rating 4/5

We spent a three night break at the F & H in late November, the rooms and beds were clean, the staff helpful, courteous and friendly. The breakfasts were really good in both quality and quantity of items on the plate, we also chose to dine in the evenings at the Inn and weren\'t disappointed with the quality of the fare on offer nor the value for money. The icing on the cake was the range of real ales served at the bar. We would not hesitate to recommend this establishment to anyone contemplating a break in this area of the Lake District. Almost forgot to mention our dog was made welcome too.

Reviewer: Wyner | Wed 25th Nov 2015


Great stay in a friendly, relaxed pub - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 3 nights on a walking trip with some of the worst weather the Lakes can throw at you! Really friendly and approachable staff and good hearty food after a day\'s soaking. Lovely room which was clean and warm. Good base for exploring the Western Lakes.

Response

hi emma thankyou for your review sorry about the weather we did try to keep it dry but our lake would be empty haha so glad we made you feel welcome and you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer: Miss. Emma O\'Driscoll | Tue 10th Nov 2015


Peace and quiet - Rating 5/5

We have travelled quite regularly to the Western lakes and stayed a little further North than Ennerdale but when we spotted the Fox and Hounds online, we thought, why not give it a try. Glad we did. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we stepped into the pub. The accommodation was a good size and the bed provided a cracking nights sleep.The Ennerdale brewery ale served in the pub was delicious and so was the freshly cooked food. All in all, a great place to stay and somewhere we will definitely be returning to.

Response

hi mr horsefield thankyou for your kind words and we hope to see you all soon kind regards team fox

Reviewer: Horsefield | Fri 16th Oct 2015


Well-run community pub - Rating 5/5

Ennerdale Bridge is a critical first-night destination for most Coast-to-Coast walkers so the three rooms at the Fox and Hounds are very popular during the walking season. This is a superb pub, tucked away in an attractive corner of the village opposite the church with a babbling beck alongside. The pub was rescued a few years ago by the community and has been excellently restored, and it is efficiently run with a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. Our room and bathroom were comfortable and spacious. There were plenty of people eating and drinking, and the food was good both in the evening and at breakfast too. Check out the website then go and stay at this lovely place.

Response

hi mr woodhouse thankyou for your kind words we hope you enjoy the rest of your coast to coast walk and hope to see you soon at the fox and hounds

Reviewer: Mr. Tony Woodhouse | Mon 21st Sep 2015


perfect pub - Rating 5/5

perfect place to stay after a long days walk.staff friendly, evening meal excellent. breakfast and packed lunch brilliant. would stay again if walking in that area .

Reviewer: Mr. doug irving | Fri 4th Sep 2015


Foxandhounds o/night - Rating 3/5

Very comfortable room - great shower after long first day trek - friendly welcome - helpful and attentive - good wine and food. Good sleep. Hearty and tasty breakfast, except for orange cordial. 8/10 but expensive

Reviewer: Chris Jarvis | Thu 3rd Sep 2015


Very enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

Just spent a lovely weekend in Ennerdale at the Fox and Hounds. Everyone was really friendly and helpful to my friend and I. As we were leaving early on our last morning so were going to miss breakfast they even made us a delicious packed lunch for the journey home. We\'d definately go back in the future.

Reviewer: Charlotte Lamb | Wed 2nd Sep 2015


Great community run Inn - Rating 5/5

Staff were friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and very clean. The location is lovely and very peaceful but handy for trail walking. Good food, great choice of local real ales provided by this small community run Inn.

Reviewer: Mr. Stirling Mogford | Tue 1st Sep 2015


Perfect room and food - Rating 5/5

Basically, I can\'t say much about it. I had a great rest before walking into the lake district and eventually finished my Coast to Coast. Without staying in Fox and Hounds, I would be regretted as a wonderful trip needed a good start.

Reviewer: Dr. Christopher Leong | Thu 27th Aug 2015


Perfect place for Coasties! - Rating 5/5

After a 1st day of C2C a very warm welcome,soak in the bath, great food and good company!

Response

hi viki thankyou for your lovely comment. hope you find the rest of your holiday a pleasant one. and hope you dont get to wet with the rain!!!! alyson

Reviewer: Mrs. Viki Brown | Sun 21st Jun 2015


Coast 2 Coasters - Rating 5/5

Amazing stay at the Fox and Hounds, double room huge, clean and comfortable. Ate in the bar good pub grub and great beer. Full English breakfast was a good start to our day. We will be back.

Response

hi thanks for taking time out to leave a comment.so glad you had a great stay with all at the fox and hounds. sue ps there be a pint on the bar waiting on your return

Reviewer: Mrs. Marie Kenworthy | Thu 21st May 2015


Coast to coast walk - Rating 4/5

After the end of a long hard day we received a very warm welcome (and nice pint of beer). The rooms were spacious and clean and the bath was well needed after walking for 8 hours. The food - evening meal and breakfast were both fine. Need to sort out the TVs. Good value for money.

Response

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments we really appreciate your feedback. Sue PS will check the TVs.

Reviewer: Moorcrooft | Tue 19th May 2015


Great dog friendly first stop on coast to coast - Rating 5/5

This was our first stop on the coast to coast. The rooms and the food were both great, and the staff were friendly and welcoming.

Response

Hi, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Sue

Reviewer: Mr. Andrew Gilbert-Straw | Sun 17th May 2015


Super nice staff and comfy room - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay here a lot. The room was charming and very comfortable. I loved bathtub with lots of hot water, great after a day of walking.

Reviewer: Ms. Deborah Hansen | Sun 26th Apr 2015


A Friendly Pub Although The Rooms Are Slightly Past Their Best - Rating 4/5

A friendly pub, the rooms are clean although slightly past their best. We had a nice evening meal and enjoyed a few pints of the local beer. Breakfast the following day was really good.

Response

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. Sue

Reviewer: Mr. Robert Boulby | Sat 25th Apr 2015


Cosy Inn - Rating 3/5

Lovely cosy clean friendly Inn. A great escape for peace and home made cooking and Great Breakfast to start the Morning in Lovely Ennerdale.

Reviewer: Mr Mrs Lawson | Mon 9th Mar 2015


One Night on the Coast to Coast Walk - Rating 5/5

My father and I stayed on the second day of the Coast to Coast walk in the middle of winter. We were very impressed by the standard of the room and the full English Breakfast was excellent. They were very accommodating and helpful even though this was the middle of winter and we were the only ones staying that night. Ennerdale Bridge is a highly underrated village and would recommend it for anyone wishing to stay in the area.

Reviewer: Mr. Oliver Freidman | Tue 20th Jan 2015


So Helpful - Rating 5/5

The staff at The Fox and Hounds couldn\'t have been more accommodating! We had originally booked a twin room, but at the last minute a 3rd friend wanted to join us, so a quick phone call ensured he was booked in. We all had a good, hearty evening meal with a good selection of real ales. We were keen to set off early in the morning (walking in the rain) so Chef cooked us an early breakfast! Many thanks to all the helpful, friendly staff at Fox and Hounds.

Response

Hi Ian, Many thanks for your positive review have passed on your comments to all staff, look forward to seeing you again. Regards Sue

Reviewer: Mr. Ian Copestake | Mon 22nd Dec 2014


They don\'t come any better! - Rating 5/5

Stayed on a Sunday night in November in this exceptional country pub. The staff were friendly and welcoming and our room was comfortable and spacious. We were delighted to find our en suite roon contained a bath instead of the ubiquitous shower. We loved the small touches such as chocolates on the pillows and a tray on a bedside table containing a dozen coffee sachets, four types of tea sachets, more chocolate and biscuits.The meals were really good and the beers from the local Ennerdale Brewery were just the job, especially the Ennerdale Blonde. We thought £60 for a double ensuite room, with breakfast, was very good value, only to be told that they now planned to offer two nights for the price of one, until March! Needless to say we plan to go back.

Response

Hi Victor, Look forward to seeing you again soon. Sue

Reviewer: Mr. Victor Marcinkiewicz | Mon 1st Dec 2014


Friendly pub - Rating 5/5

Nice pub with good support from locals tucked away near the church. I had a very pleasant stay during the Coast to Coast walk. The room had a bath, which was most welcome for tired muscles.

Reviewer: Mr. James Lucy | Thu 18th Sep 2014


Extra Information

  • Pet Friendly
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Bar
  • Family Rooms
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Horse Riding
  • Gay Friendly
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat

Changes and cancellations to bookings made up to 7 days before the arrival date/time are without charge. Thereafter the deposit may be charged. The total value of the booking may be charged if changes/cancellations are made with less than 72 hours notice.